03
Apr
10

Lost egg recipes

I once read–of course I don’t remember where–that eggs vary enough by season that there used to be recipes that made the most of those differences. Although much has been written lately about the joys of fresh, local eggs, I have yet to find any of those seasonal egg recipes.

But I’m on their trail. Today I was very happy to come home to find this in the mail:

Knowing what to do with the dozen or so leftover yolks might be what finally lets me justify making angelfood cupcakes with a homemade lemon curd filling. Another dessert seems like overkill, but stuffed mushrooms and moussaka each use up three…

The introduction also mentions that Grimod de la Reynière once recorded 685 ways to serve eggs. Looks like the 641.5944 section is my next stop at the San Francisco Public Library.

0 Responses to “Lost egg recipes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

