05
May
10

El Metate

We shook things up after our shift at the Bike Kitchen last night. Instead of going to the Saint Francis for dinner, we hit El Metate, at Bryant and 22nd.

The menu is extensive, and I had a hard time deciding. I was about to order the burrito with bistec and papas in chile rojo, when someone else’s plate of fish tacos came up. Crispy, curled up, breaded and browned–beautiful. I’ll have two of those, please. The fish was everything its appearance promised, especially with a dash of lime juice and a shot of their not-too-hot habañero salsa. I’m not sure about the pile of rice on their tacos, though. Next time I’ll see if they’ll give me beans, instead.

John-Paul ordered the chile rojo burrito, so I got a chance to taste it. Also delicious–and it’s always a thrill to find something that I associate with home cooking on a Mexican restaurant menu. The burrito form is a purely restaurant innovation, though–my grandmother serves this kind of chile rojo in a bowl, as a stew. I’ll have to make some at home soon.

Happy cinco de mayo, by the way, and a belated happy May Day.

0 Responses to “El Metate”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

