03
Jun
10

reuse: a history lesson

On Tuesday morning, I finished typing up notes on Michael Krondl’s The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice before I returned it to the SFPL (only two days late!). My favorite:


Still Life with Turkey Pie, Pieter Claesz, 1627

Detail:

That’s ground black pepper, sold in a paper cone made from an outdated almanac page.

I want to be able to buy my spices this way. I wonder what the cashiers at Rainbow would think, and if they’d give me the bag-reuse discount…

2 Responses to “reuse: a history lesson”


  1. 1 Kathy
    June 6, 2010 at 16:28

    Love it… I have been wishing I had top-notch spices in my life, like the kind of cinnamon that is more gritty than fine… Do you know the best place in SF to obtain such things?

  2. June 8, 2010 at 12:56

    The best I’ve found so far is Rainbow Grocery, at 14th & Folsom. It’s a bulk spice cornucopia, and the quality has been pretty good. You should come with me some time–and we’ll take paper cones made of last week’s music listings.


Leave a Reply

