09
Jun
10

flour tortilla recipe

It’s as though Jon saw me writing yesterday afternoon. This one is for him.

* * *
My grandmother’s kitchen, despite its gas stove and running water, is essentially pre-modern. What it lacks is literacy. And so I’ve taken her impressionistic method for mixing masa and reduced it, like a good, science-fearing modern girl, to a formula. For two dozen Tex-Mex tortillas (not burrito behemoths), “this much” white flour becomes three cups, “some” baking powder and salt become one and a half teaspoons of the former and two teaspoons of the latter. The lard that half fills the palm of a small and golden hand measures out to six tablespoons.

I use my hands—they being the only proper utensil in this process—to cut the fat into the dry ingredients, then make a well and pour in a little more than three-quarters of a cup of warm water. I mix that quickly, careful not to overwork the masa. Now I cover it with a slightly damp (my innovation) dish towel and let it rest while I clean up, get out my rolling pin, and lightly flour my work surface. Then I separate the masa into appropriately sized bolas that will also stay under the towel until I’m ready for them.

More tentatively than I should, with too many passes of the rolling pin, I roll each bola out to the right thickness. It feels springy, like the rolled-up hem of a favorite t-shirt; it’s maybe an eighth of an inch thick, still, and floury to the touch. Then I begin slapping the half-formed tortilla back and forth between my hands. It unfolds like a tossed pizza dough.

If I were patient, or if anyone were watching, I would keep on slapping until my tortillas became bien delgadita and ready for the pan. The heat will puff the tortillas back up to a pleasant chewy thickness. With neither patience nor audience, I resort to the expedient of grabbing each tortilla by an edge and letting its own weight stretch it out. I dangle them by their longest edges, hoping for roundness. My hope is rarely fulfilled.

Conquistadores and chroniclers reported that the Mexica shaped their (corn) tortillas to look like butterflies and leaves. If I were to declare that one a butterfly and this other one a leaf, my grandmother would get a kick of my desperate justifications. The exchange might be performance art, but my tortillas would still not be culinary art.
* * *

Whatever their shape, cook your tortillas in a skillet over medium heat until both sides have golden brown spots.

Jon–I don’t know my grandmother’s (other than long practice) secret for consistent roundness, nor her secret for keeping these pliable overnight. But as long as you use these proportions and don’t overwork the dough, you should get a good batch for a meal. Some of them will even still be good for breakfast tacos in the morning. I’ve found that re-heating a stack over low heat in a skillet with a lid on effectively steams the ones in the middle, keeping them flexible.

If you’re feeling particularly unlucky, you can do what my sister does–make them with a photo of our grandmother watching over you. She says it helps. There are plenty on my flickr page, if you get that desperate.

10 Responses to “flour tortilla recipe”


  1. February 25, 2013 at 08:40

    My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made
    my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  2. April 20, 2013 at 06:57

    Some people known as Nikon one V1 a conveyable DSLR the place you are able to just slip
    correct by way of your pocket but its shooting strength is identical as that of a DSLR.
    A montage specially edited for the occasion works best. Since it is
    an HD radio, it produces clear treble and bass tones, and
    has static radio reception.

  3. April 29, 2013 at 20:04

    This is really interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your
    great post. Additionally, I have shared
    your site in my social networks

  4. May 9, 2013 at 08:22

    Whether enjoying a little league, high school, college or major
    league baseball game, fans should remember these important items before
    leaving for the ballpark. four GHz which is why
    you want to invest in a jammer that can tamper this signal.
    There are a lot of options in mobile phones available on the market today.

  5. May 9, 2013 at 20:08

    Keeping these plants in flowerbeds or flower
    boxes near your home will attract tachnid flies, who will then help control the population of earwigs.
    Remove and dispose of moldy material in plastic bags, if possible.
    The odor can smell like moldy must or worse than that.

  6. May 19, 2013 at 08:44

    This post offers clear idea for the new people of blogging, that genuinely how to do blogging.

  7. May 20, 2013 at 04:10

    I every time emailed this weblog post page to all my friends, for the reason that if like to read it after that my friends will too.

  8. May 30, 2013 at 18:07

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Thanks a lot!

  9. June 3, 2013 at 16:55

    This will get rid of the built up odours and leave everything clean and smelling fresh.
    If you find that the area immediately around your house is very damp, you can
    add a gravel and limestone border, which will help
    with drainage. The odor can smell like moldy must or worse
    than that.

  10. July 27, 2013 at 21:05

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, like you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few percent to force the message house a bit, but instead of that,
    this is excellent blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.


Leave a Reply

