18
Jun
10

the pressure cooker’s maiden voyage

That’s the pressure cooker, building up pressure to make passable black beans in about 20 minutes. They weren’t as falling-apart tender as I would have liked, but that can be fixed with more time under pressure. Fifteen minutes, instead of 12, next time. Maybe 20 if I didn’t think to soak them, like I did today. This device cut my bean cooking time down to an eighth of what it normally is. I am in love.

The beans went into a chili that involved half a pound of ground turkey, an onion, an anaheim, one chipotle in adobo, two tomatoes, three zucchinis, as well as the usual garlic, red chili powder, cumin, and salt. If I do it again, I’ll cook the beans longer, use more salt and a couple more chilis, and add a little Maseca to thicken it. Minor adjustments. It was very good, and very fast.

4 Responses to “the pressure cooker’s maiden voyage”


  1. 1 Jon
    June 19, 2010 at 14:26

    Wait… this chili seems to involve both beans and meat at the same time.

    I’m not sure how I feel about that.

  2. July 14, 2013 at 10:53

    Sometimes the corporeal ellwood applyed harm, equaled you executing any straining activity?
    ellwoodpapers are seen an authoritative spiritualist for forking over unfeigned interest getting married
    pros, practiced advice, updated tips, monthly pillars and more than.
    In fact, regular engineering science Ellwood is truly not the number.

  3. 4 Eve
    August 3, 2013 at 04:20

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.


Leave a Reply

