19
Jun
10

comparative waffles

Julie and I celebrated her 30th birthday recently with a visit to La Trappe. I’d only been once, almost a year ago, at the end of the night, and I was a little worried it would be hokier than I remembered–it is in North Beach, after all.

I shouldn’t have worried. The downstairs room is in fact a cozy little grotto, the beer list is extensive, and the grass-fed burgers are vast, the fries crisp, the dipping sauces flavorful (three things I didn’t experience last time).

And the waffles–yum. Very different from the crisp, airy, ethereal wonders that are the cornmeal waffles at Oakland’s Brown Sugar Kitchen, the last place Julie and I shared a waffle. But still, yum. La Trappe’s waffles have crispy edges around creamy centers that taste like there’s banana in the batter. Not enough to turn them into banana waffles, but a complex sweetness. Add syrup, fresh strawberries and blueberries, and cinnamon-kissed whipped cream on top. Delicious!

2 Responses to “comparative waffles”


  1. June 20, 2010 at 08:39

    sounds good! Love waffles especially if someone else makes them for me!

    • June 20, 2010 at 20:29

      We had a waffle iron at the coffee shop I worked at in college, and I could never get it not to stick. It was a one-person-behind-the-counter kind of place, so it was simply a tragic fact on days that I worked, we were always out of waffle mix.


Leave a Reply

