21
Jun
10

eggplant and tomato with raisin and almond bulgur

Tonight’s meal departed a few times from my vision for it, but it turned out very tasty.

First, I meant to make bulgur with tomatoes and red chili pepper, courtesy of Joumana at Taste of Beirut. But two posts behind it under her “bulgur” tag was her friend Phoebe Hanna’s recipe for bulgur with nuts and raisins. I went with that instead. (Note: the bulgur with nuts and raisins recipe calls for soaking the raisins in hot water for an hour first; I just added extra water and simmered them with the bulgur.)

To go with it, we had a bunch of baby eggplants from the farmers market. I intended to pan fry those, then follow Mark Bittman’s suggestion of deglazing the pan with tomatoes. Those could be the basis of a sauce, maybe with the last of the yogurt we should really use up before traveling…

So I heated a bunch of olive oil, then browned some garlic in it, to flavor the oil for the eggplant. Then I fried the eggplant in batches. At the end, I had too much oil and nothing to deglaze. I drained some oil, put in the tomatoes, some salt and black pepper, and a little cumin. I added the eggplant and garlic back in, along with some toasted almonds that didn’t make it into the bulgur, and called it food. Served with yogurt, the two dishes were delicious together.

4 Responses to “eggplant and tomato with raisin and almond bulgur”


  1. June 22, 2010 at 02:03

    Esther

    Glad you liked it and the way you served it with the eggplants is like have the two dishes in one!

  2. 2 Tes
    June 22, 2010 at 05:02

    This recipe looks really yummy! It looks very healthy and fresh, too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. July 9, 2013 at 01:04

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a designer
    to create your theme? Outstanding work!

  4. July 12, 2013 at 06:01

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a material! existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this web page.


Leave a Reply

