05
Aug
10

what are corn nuts?

CornNuts:
crunchy toasted corn by velkr0 on flickr

Cancha:
cancha serrana by Dtarazona public domain on Wikimedia Commons

I only ate at my first Peruvian restaurant a couple of years ago, and the appetizer cancha seemed new and foreign, but somehow familiar. Then I realized its close relation to CornNuts. (When I was in school, I thought CornNuts were the most disgusting snack around, because every variety was coated in nasty flavor powder. I decided I could like plain cancha anyway.)

It appears that Albert Holloway, inventor of the CornNut, came up with his version without knowledge of the Andean snack, but when he learned about the large-kerneled variety used around Cusco, he brought it back to California to make bigger, better CornNuts.

0 Responses to “what are corn nuts?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

