16
Aug
10

cowgirl creamery

North of here, there’s a place (a couple of places, actually) called Cowgirl Creamery. Liza and Steve introduced me to their Mt. Tam cheese a couple of weeks ago, and I have to admit I ate 4.5 decadent ounces of it all by myself yesterday. It’s a milky, mellow triple cream that starts off smooth and soft like a brie, but turns soft-like-a-chevre on the tongue. The texture-change effect is strong enough that I wasn’t sure, looking at the cheese in the store, that I was remembering the right name and buying the right thing. But I was. I ate it all with figs from the farmers’ market. (This is what happens when I’m left to “cook” for myself for several days. Figs with cheese at midnight.)

1 Response to “cowgirl creamery”


  1. 1 Jon
    August 16, 2010 at 17:35

    Their downtown DC location is pretty dangerous, and I judge local cheese plates by their inclusion of Cowgirl cheeses.


Leave a Reply

