03
Sep
10

texas grapefruit?

Last night we used a couple of very tart grapefruits in our beet and grapefruit salad. It made me remember this time last year, when I was walking past a produce stand and noticed for the first time a sign that read Texas oranges. It made me double take, and I realized that twenty-five years of my life conditioned me to assume that unlabeled citrus is from Texas, and it’s California or Florida citrus that are labeled as something out of the ordinary. Even here in California, land of citrus (the state where I first learned that lemon trees have thorns), I still seek out Texas grapefruits. Just not for last night’s salad, apparently.


Grapefruit

2 Responses to “texas grapefruit?”


  1. September 6, 2010 at 21:22

    I love Texas grapefruits! Can’t say that I know the California ones but they are probably comparable in taste?

  2. September 11, 2010 at 22:35

    I’ve found the California ones to be more tart than the Texan ones.


Leave a Reply

