20
Oct
10

mis segundos tamales de elote

Still not right. I made them a little while ago, all excited, thinking that omitting the cornmeal would lead me to a triumphant post about how awesome they were. It was not to be. Leaving out the cornmeal did improve the texture…but not the flavor. That left my (probably stale) stash of Maseca as the culprit. I let the post go, and put the tamales in the compost bin. Add masa harina to the list of things (like non-direct flights home) that I’ve gotten to old to tolerate.

On Monday night, I had tamales from the Tamale Lady as she made her round at Zeitgeist. So, so, so good! They were California-sized, so I expected to be peeling off excess masa, but no–the corn was tender but not soggy, and it tasted just right. Four dollars per was a bit steep, though.

The experiences renewed my quest for good tamale masa, especially if I’m going to make pork tamales around the holidays. I’ve heard that La Palma at 24th and Florida sells fresh masa. I’ll pay them a visit this week and let you know how things turn out.

0 Responses to “mis segundos tamales de elote”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

