03
Oct
11

improved California figs

I didn’t know until I moved to California that Texas has some of the best figs in the world. Boston had no figs at all, so most summers I had my family send me figs (or send me home with them after a visit). In California, I expected to have my figgy needs me–and I was disappointed. California has figs, yes, but they’re big and watery compared to Texas figs. Texas figs are like candy; California figs are meh. All I can figure is that they’re too well irrigated. But since Texas has been suffering drought, and too little water means no figs at all, I haven’t been able to get my fix.

Mark Bittman’s recipe for figs in blankets (bacon-wrapped figs, so actually figs in pigs) calls for broiling, which got me thinking: Could the broiler improve California figs? The answer is yes. Not quite to the standards of Texas figs, but better. Just fire up a broiler, spray a baking sheet with neutral-flavored oil, place halved figs cut side up on the sheet, and broil for 2-3 minutes, until the figs leak a little juice and the tops start to split and swell. Improved, though not perfected, and delicious with a drizzling of creme fraiche.

What's left after broiled figs with creme fraiche
And it leaves art on your plate!

2 Responses to “improved California figs”


  1. October 3, 2011 at 14:54

    I have yet to taste these delicious Texas figs; pray tell me where they are? I have to rely on the lebanese ones for now. sigh. This recipe sounds great especially for a bacon-lover.

    • October 4, 2011 at 09:51

      They’re mostly home-grown, it seems. In a good year, my grandfather has more than he knows what to do with. I think Boggy Creek Farm, in Austin, grows them to sell, but they’re a bit far from you.


Leave a Reply

